George Gasser Sportsmanship Award

Established in 1997, The George Gasser Award is named in honor of a long-time Richmond area athlete, official, past CVFOA Commissioner, and a Virginia High School League (VHSL) Hall of Fame inductee. Mr. Gasser excelled in high school athletics and played minor league baseball before finding his sports calling as a college and high school official for basketball and football. After many years as a Southern Conference and as a high school official, George assumed the position of the Commissioner in 1968 and continued in that role until 1996. During his leadership, the CVFOA evolved into a dynamic officiating organization with emphasis on training and recruitment. In 1995, Mr. Gasser was inducted into the VHSL Hall of Fame for his contributions as a student-athlete, official, and commissioner. Mr. Gasser passed away in 1997.

George Gasser Sportsmanship Award Recipients

2022 Hopewell
2021 Christchurch
2020 No Award
2019 Middlesex
2018 West Point
2017 Goochland
2016 Cumberland
2015 Bluestone
2014 Middlesex
2013 Mathews
2012 Goochland
2011 Southampton
2010 Blessed Sacrament Huguenot
2009 Trinity Episcopal
2008 Nottoway
2007 Nottoway
2006 Goochland
2005 Trinity Episcopal
2004 Lancaster
2003 Blessed Sacrament Huguenot
2002 West Point
2001 Central of Lunenburg
2000 West Point