The Stretch Gardner Sportsmanship Award

The Stretch Gardner Sportsmanship Award is presented to the highest ranking AAA or Prep League school. The George Gasser Sportsmanship Award is presented to the highest ranking AA, A, or Independent school. 1st Runner-up and 2nd Runner-up sportsmanship certificates are also presented to the ranking schools for each classification.

The awards are announced in a press release in early December and the award trophies are presented to the schools at the annual Touchdown Club banquet in January each year. The CVFOA also maintains a perpetual trophy for each sportsmanship award that engraves the names all the award winners.

The Stretch Gardner Award was established in 1986. It was named in honor of Arthur Lee (“Stretch”) Gardner, a local sports legend and educator in Richmond. Stretch graduated from Armstrong HS and Virginia Union University where he played basketball, football, and baseball. Stretch was a Coach and PE Instructor at Maggie Walker HS for 31 years. For decades, he officiated football, baseball, and softball in the Richmond area. He was past-President and CVFOA Board member. He was inducted into the CIAA Hall of Fame in 1984. Stretch passed away in 1985.

Stretch Gardner Sportsmanship Award Recipients

2022 Powhatan
2021 George Wythe
2020 No Award
2019 Dinwiddie
2018 Douglas Freeman
2017 Matoaca
2016 George Wythe
2015 Deep Run
2014 Midlothian
2013 Collegiate
2012 George Wythe
2011 Collegiate
2010 Highland Springs
2009 St. Christopher’s
2007 Midlothian
2006 Collegiate
2005 Mills Godwin
2004 Collegiate
2003 Collegiate
2002 Clover Hill
2001 Midlothian
2000 Midlothian